Call Us! 214-893-4116

Basic Marksmanship Training

Texas License to Carry or LTC

Let Texas License to Carry Instructors with 20 years experience, prepare you for the carrying of a handgun. Who would you want testifying on your behalf if it became necessary?

Defensive Carbine Training

Defensive Carbine Training

Defensive Carbine 1 prepares you to use semi-auto short barreled weapon systems for personal self-defense applications.

Concealment & Low Light Training

Concealment & Low Light

If you’re carrying a concealed handgun, how often have you actually drawn and fired from concealment?

LTC Training

Let Texas License to Carry Instructors with 20 years experience, prepare you for the carrying of a handgun. Who would you want testifying on your behalf if it became necessary?

Our Staff

Texas Concealed Carry Institute has provides Texas License to Carry training in McKinney, TX. since 1995. Our instructors are active duty police officers, licensed by the State of Texas as Police Firearms Instructors and License To Carry (LTC) Instructors.

Our Classes

Our classes average 5-10 people not 50 or 60 people crammed into the room! We have weekday and weekend License To Carry (LTC) classes.

$89 LTC Classes

Our original one day License To Carry Training (LTC) is $89.00 including the range.

View Our Class Schedule

We offer a variety of class dates to fit your busy schedule.

Innovation

Both Ryan and Venegoni are certified in several disciplines of self defense as police instructors such as defensive tactics, pepper spray and impact weapons. Since beginning to teach CHL in 1995, they have taught thousands of people for both their license and advanced firearms courses.

Expertise

Our instructors are active duty police officers, licensed by the State of Texas as Police Firearms Instructors and License To Carry (LTC) Instructors.

Excellence

Instructors Phil Ryan and Cesare Venegoni have been teaching since 1995 to thousands of satisfied customers, formerly affiliated with the Collin County Gun Range.

FAQ"s

BLOG

Texas Attorney General Issues Opinions on New Texas Open Carry and Campus Carry Gun Laws

Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton issued four advisory opinions regarding the new Texas open carry and campus carry laws. Texas Attorney General’s Texas Open Carry and Campus Carry Laws Advisory Opinions Cities and counties may violate SB 273 if they post signs prohibiting firearms (30.06 signs), or otherwise prohibit concealed carry in local administrative complexes,…

Texas License to Carry (LTC) Questions And Answers

Open carry started January 1, 2016 in Texas and the Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) is now known as the Texas License to Carry (LTC). Texas Concealed Carry Institute compiled questions and answers to help explain Texas License to Carry. Will licensees be required to take additional training to obtain a new license, one that…

Don’t let “Gun plumbers” alter your guns. If you do, you’re asking for trouble.

One of my biggest concerns involves people who alter their gun from manufacture specifications. Years ago, a lot of competition shooters would alter their Glock trigger by removing the inertia safety. The inertia trigger safety is what makes the Glock trigger look like there’s two triggers. Some folks would drill out the small pin that…

It’s No Accident. It’s Negligent Gun Discharge. Learn Gun Safety.

Over the years, I’ve had people tell me about their “Accidental gun discharge.” Hmm…is there really such a thing as an accidental discharge? Not usually. The truth is, if a gun goes off when the handler didn’t mean for it to fire, it was a negligent discharge. What does that mean? Well, it simply means…

Can Texas CHL holders Open Carry in Oklahoma?

Until April 2013, there was an unresolved issue as to whether a Texas CHL holder could open carry in Oklahoma because that state’s license holders are permitted to carry either concealed or open, and Oklahoma recognizes all state issued handgun licenses involving Texas CHLs. The issue of whether or not a Texan with a Texas…

TX Concealed Handgun Law Updates 2013

   Senate Bill 864 (enrolled version) has been sign by the Governor and will become effective September 1, 2013.  Many people are under the impression that an original CHL course will now be 4 hours and that is completely incorrect.  The changes in the law limit the number of classroom hours on the four required topics…

Veteran Fee’s Benefit for Texas Concealed Handgun License

This is copy of an email sent to TXDPS Concealed Handgun Legal concerning no discount for veterans over 60 years of age.  Sent 12/21/09: To: T.D.P.S. Concealed Handgun Legal From: Phil Ryan 00009602 Subject:  License Fee’s It has come to my attention that the fees being charged veterans whom are over 60 years of age…

Why Is The Class 10 Hours?

Many years ago when the CHL was being debated, one of the biggest concerns was safety.  As always, detractors use safety as a way to complicate a guaranteed Second Amendment right to “keep and bear arms”.  So the State requires specific areas be taught and a minimum of 10 hours and no more than 15…

Recommend Concealed Carry Guns

The following is a list of guns that I personally like for a concealed carry option. I do not represent any of these companies, nor do I make any claim that these products are the only options available, nor any guaranty implied or otherwise. There are many quality firearms available for personal defense. This is…

Your Employer & Your CHL Rights

Texas Concealed Handgun License (CHL) holders enjoy some of the least restrictive carry laws in the nation.  In Texas your employer has the right to restrict your carrying of a handgun at work even though you have a CHL.  It has been that way since the inception of the law in 1995.  Let’s take a…

Get In Touch

We would love to hear from you!

p: 214.893.4116
e: instructor@txconcealedcarry.com

Classes held at Yeager Office Suites 6401 W. Eldorado Parkway McKinney, TX 75071